The Stone Tables Restoration Project
The White Rock Lake Conservancy and the Dallas City Council broke ground on the Restoration Project on January 5, 2015. Watch the video of the groundbreaking ceremony here.
In 1931, the City of Dallas built the lake’s ﬁrst picnic pavilion and picnic grounds known today as the Stone Tables and Pavilion. Laura Yeary Smith, the ﬁrst female member of the Park and Recreation Board, designed the unique stone picnic tables that still dot the area northeast of the dam that would become one of White Rock Lake’s most popular picnic area.
A few years after the pavilion and tables were built, a CCC camp was established at White Rock as part of President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal. The young men of the CCC made more improvements to the picnic area including adding a lily pond to the natural spring area, planting all of the trees in the area, and building the restroom facilities. Over the years, ongoing repairs have been made to the area such as the addition of a playground in the 1990s.
The White Rock Lake Conservancy, working with Park and Recreation, has identiﬁed elements to be repaired, restored and improved. Volunteers, including architects and builders, have worked with Park and Recreation to create a master plan for the renovation.
Phase One of the project was completed in June, 2015. The Conservancy raised over $113,000 and gave it all to the City of Dallas at the end of 2014. This payment covered the costs of phase one of the restoration project. The Pavilion received a new roof, the flagstone floor and pathways were repaired, lighting was replaced and the water fountain near the pavilion has been updated. The Conservancy is currently raising funds to pay for the final phases of the project which include the repair of actual stone tables as well as the restoring the natural spring fed lily pond back to it’s original state.